Make Me Laugh, Win a Copy of My Ruby Slippers

To jolly up your holidays, how about a caption contest?  Whoever writes the funniest caption for this photo wins a copy of my My Ruby Slippers. Drop your entry into the comments. 60 words or less, funniest version wins. Contest ends at midnight December 20.

Santa with two little girls on his lap ca. 1960

About Tracy Seeley

Author of MY RUBY SLIPPERS (U of Nebraska Press, 2011).
This entry was posted in About My Ruby Slippers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Make Me Laugh, Win a Copy of My Ruby Slippers

  1. Tracy Seeley says:

    And ‘My Ruby Slippers’ bookmarks for all!

  2. Peg Nichols says:

    Caption this photo contest:

    “What the hail are those little white dots that keep falling down?”

  3. Sue W says:

    Ooh…they are sitting on my lap, and what am I sitting on?

  4. susan says:

    “i can’t feel my legs,” said everyone in this picture.

  5. susan says:

    oh good! 🙂

  6. Pamreader says:

    As Santa hauled the two boys onto his knees he hoped they’d hide that fact that his trousers had shrunk in the wash…

  7. Pamreader says:

    As Santa hauled the two boys onto his knees he hoped they’d hide the fact that his trousers had shrunk in the wash…

  8. Pearl says:

    These two sweethearts from the tips of their identical magical shoes have captured my heart and soul.

  9. Anne says:

    Munchkins forevermore. Who is the fairest of them all? Do I have the best job ever?

  10. Bill Sherman says:

    I know I can’t win cause I’m family, but how about:

    “Oy! What do you pishers want for this meshuggina holiday??”

  11. CRD4USC says:

    “You’ll shoot your eye out.”

  12. Judy Jones says:

    I realize I missed the deadline but something made me think of you and here you are! I was going to guess that the picture was of you and Tara on Henry Harvey’s lap. That took me back to such memories as “Freddy’s little Fudd” (our carpool nick name for Mickey in 6th grade). And then there are 5 blank years, followed by a half-summer each of the two of you (while the other contributed to the obesity of our nation selling frozen treats the size of our heads).
    Yes, I have a freakish memory. It can be deeply disturbing, especially as my data allocation is running out and I could really benefit from freeing up the space for more important things (“where are my glasses?” being primary; answer: on top of your head, dummy, just like last time).
    I can’t wait to read your book – Judy Jones (Stanley ALC Class of ’68? and Camp Wiedemann (R.I.P.)

  13. Alexis says:

    Craigslist is an oft overlooked advertising tool that even established photographers can find useful. However, make sure you avoid these two major pitfalls:1Don’t let quantity override quality and2don’t update your content too frequently.

Leave a Reply

